Happy Lunar New Year!


Wishing Park Si Hoo and all fans who are celebrating
Lunar New Year, a year full of Love, Health, Happiness and Prosperity. Have a great time with your family and friends!^^

Lunar New Year also means we are entering a new year.
Goodbye “Year of the Horse” and hello “Year of the Sheep”.


The sheep is the eight in the group of twelve animal guardian deities collectively known as the Sibijisin, which literally means “twelve (sibi) Gods of the Earth (jisin)”. The animals of the Sibijisin
are the Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig.

In ancient times, Koreans had referred to the twelve animals to measure the hours of the day. For example, the hours between
5 a.m. and 7 a.m. had been called “Myosi” (Time of the Rabbit), and the hours between 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. “Misi” (Time of the Sheep). The entire day had been divided into twelve different “times”. Each represented by one of the twelve animals.
Also, the animals had been thought to represent directions. As the animals have long been revered as guardians against evil spirits, their statues have been built around many royal tombs and sites.

Moreover, each year is marked by a jisin; since there are twelve jisins, the cycle repeats every 12 years. It is traditionally believed that people possess the personality of the animal that marks their birth year. Therefore, the year and the time of birth are often used to determine one’s personality and fate.

Source: VisitKorea

Share Button

Comments are closed.